Ponderings While Pedaling to Patagonia

A Dementor in Metropolitan Form

Butte, MT makes me feel like I will never be happy again. Once the “richest hill on Earth,” Butte has been ravaged by some kind of mystical entity. It doesn’t help that I’m here on a Sunday, when the Lord commands everyone in Montana to shut themselves in their homes.

I did find a place to stay really easily though. I literally did not even have to look anywhere. I was talking to this Animal Whisperer/Communicator (that’s what her nametag said). I had asked her where the closest park was. That was a mistake. I got the unabridged version of her quest to seek out one of her former cats that “all signs pointed to was dead.” She said she was getting a vibe that the cat was still alive though. She told me to watch my back when I’m in Missoula, Butte, Kalispell, Tucson, AZ, Phoenix and Seattle. Bozemann, MT is apparently a safe place though.

Anyway, a man overheard her lunacy and he and I got to talking. Turns out he hosts Couchsurfers all the time so I’m crashing with him tonight. Thank you, animal whisperer for bringing our paths together!

Who keeps going when they run into something like this?? I do!

3 responses

  1. Marcia B

    Perhaps it’s just the mom in me responding to your latest brush with “death” but darling sometimes you need to listen to your head not your heart. I only recently told Emily about a very scarey hike I took at the Grand Canyon this summer. I had run out of water, it was hot, I was hiking alone and didn’t know when I’d make it back to camp. I knew then that I’d probably exceeded my skills and comfort level. Time to stop & get back to safety. Keep safe my friend. Marcia B.

    August 20, 2012 at 2:05 am

    • Promise I’ll be more careful. The sign welcomed non-motorized craft so I kept going, but all these red flags were popping up in my head so I decided to turn around after a mile or so. Thanks for the kind words.

      August 20, 2012 at 2:38 am

  2. I second Marcia! Be careful! Also, why don’t you have a Jetboil? I expect out of all people, my most refined sibling to have such an elite possession.

    August 28, 2012 at 2:45 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.