Ponderings While Pedaling to Patagonia

28 Days & 1500 Miles Later

Yesterday, I had breakfast in Wyoming, lunch in Idaho, and dinner in Utah. Little things like that make me happy.

6 miles before this, my hand was in the water

I biked so much in the past two days. 180 miles, including at least 5000 feet of climbing to 4 mountain passes. The ride up to the pass above Bear Lake was beyond ridiculous. 2000 feet of elevation gain in 6 miles. 2000 feet!! It was an 8% grade which essentially means, “Finish or submit to death.” Of all the climbs I’m aware of, this was the steepest. I do 6% grades out the wazoo, and 7% is almost as common. But I’ve never done an 8 before. I once went down a 9 in Idaho and once saw a 10 in Colorado. But standing atop the pass was one of the proudest moments of my life. It was honestly really difficult and I’m happy to be able to say that I completed it.

Utah’s already won me over. I knew southern Utah would be grand, but northern Utah is fantastic as well. Logan Canyon had some awesome drops and rock faces. I have a few pictures here and there, but the Internet at the Salt Lake City Library is really slow. I’ll upload them later. Speaking of the library, this building is a direct architectural ripoff of the library in Vancouver. An “inspiration” as they call it in the architecture world. It’s seriously the same glass Colosseum design down to the nubbins.

Can you spot the bolts and anchors??

I went to see Temple Square, the Mormon church headquarters. Once, years ago, I had a dream that Mormons took my sister hostage in Temple Square and she couldn’t escape. The church was no less menacing in person and I’m glad I’m not there anymore.

Time for a few days off. Check back in a little bit to see what I’m up to :)

***EDIT***: If you like to calculate things like I do, here’s a fun fact: I’m currently 6.69% finished with a purely southward trek to Ushuaia, Argentina. Seattle, the start, was at latitude 47.6097* N. I’m currently in SLC at latitude 40.7500* N. Ushuaia is at 54.8000* S.  So I’ve traversed 6.85* of latitude out of a total 102.40*. I’m going to bed now that I have proved I have no life.

10 responses

  1. Dad

    This is a lot of biking. See you soon.

    August 29, 2012 at 12:19 am

  2. Are you talking about this: http://www.lds.org/multimedia/files//5360_SaltLakeUT_hr.jpg

    If so, what!?????!?!?!?!?!?!??! I can’t believe you went there without me!! I actually have a soft side for the Mormon exodus…NP. HEHEHHEHEE

    I really like the maps showing where your journey :)

    August 29, 2012 at 1:00 am

  3. Humair

    Hey Shami Boy !! Just heard of your adventure and have been floored by the pics and, indeed the narrative … not to talk of the adventurism itself. I wonder if you even remember who the hell I happen to be !!
    Humair

    August 29, 2012 at 7:12 am

  4. Mom

    Thats how they calculate deistance in Flight Dispatch with lat/longs. So now you are qualified to be a dispatcher :)

    August 29, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  5. Hans

    Keep it up man! Wish we could climb those faces!!

    August 29, 2012 at 5:33 pm

  6. Fabrizio

    Would this be cool?

    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Arkon-SM432-Mega-Grip-Handlebar-Mount/16480579

    August 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    • shazmat

      It would be if my phone ever worked :/. As of now, I’m probably just going to use the extra frame space to mount more water bottles. I’m heading into Moab area so water will soon be scarce. And my Camelbak is leaking so I definitely have to take care of that. Thanks, Fabri.

      August 30, 2012 at 9:45 pm

  7. Humaira Siddiqui

    ASA Shami, I’m your mom’s high school friend and soooo proud of you. We always thought of Iffat as an adventurous person but you just surpassed her. Good-luck and may Allah protect you. Lots of Du’as!! Humaira Siddiqui

    September 3, 2012 at 6:50 am

  8. Hola! Just found your site and am so happy for / jealous of you and your adventure! My brother, husband and I planned a bike trip in AR/Chile at the beginning of this year and, while it was a great 3 month trip, the cycling part was an epic fail (my lack-of-conditioning-fault)! BUT it’s totally doable and we met tons of awesome people just starting or just finishing down there! Keep pedaling and you’ll have the most amazing experiences! We’ll follow your journey and try to give you some tips when you get down to Mendoza and south!

    September 3, 2012 at 5:38 pm

  9. Thanks for all the comments everybody! They really do keep me going. Kate, I’d love any tips you have to offer! Don’t be a stranger.

    September 3, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.